[Blog Tour] Flipping The Script (#romanceclassFlicker) by Danice Mae P. Sison Book Review

#romanceclass
Flipping the Script Book Cover Flipping the Script
#romanceclassFlicker #2
Danice Mae P. Sison
Romance, Young Adult
February 15th, 2019
eARC
#romanceclass


Miri dela Merced’s film director grandfather and Pabs Paglinauan’s studio head grandmother had a huge falling out that ended Lolo Ikong’s career. At seventeen, Miri finds herself in the same summer film internship program as the down-to-earth film studio heir Pabs, whom she’s decided to automatically write off, just because of his lineage. As Miri gets a crash course in her expectations vs the reality of what it's like to work on a real movie, her true feelings for Pabs become harder and harder to ignore. In between attending outdoor screenings of classic Pinoy movies and battling monster production assistants together, can flipping the script on a decades-old grudge be only a few sequences away?


ORDER HERE (PH)

REVIEW


Sometimes the script doesn’t turn out the way we want it to be written, I guess. Sometimes it flips itself over and what we get is even better.”


Flipping The Script is a short, light, and fluffy read — the kind that you’d want to read on a summer vacation, summer getaway, or even on your boring commute to keep you entertained and feel the kilig.

I joined this blog tour, all thanks to KB of Bookbed for informing me on Twitter. This novel is written by a Filipino author Danice Mae P. Sison, a #romanceclass writer — the more reason I got so interested in joining. I haven’t read a single #romanceclass work (I know, free punch), and I’ve always wanted to do so, ever since I keep seeing Fay of Bibliophile Soprano being so passionate about it. SO, FINAFREAKINGLLY!

Flipping The Script is actually the second book to the #romanceclassFlicker series. This made me worry before joining the tour because I haven’t read the first one yet. Uh-oh! BUT KB reassured me that it is okay to read Flipping The Script even without reading the prior Flicker book yet. Flicker books were written to stand alone even if they are basically in one series. (Think of DC Icons or the Anna and The French Kiss series.)

As earlier mentioned, this book is a really quick read. This is something that I’d totally read if I’m on a long commute or a road trip. It is also light, perfect if you’re looking for a novel that will make you feel happy and not so stressful.

Filipino YA romance that explores the country’s film industry.

YES TO THE YES! If you love watching a good movie, especially the local ones, or if you love filmmaking itself, you’d totally gush over this.

Flipping The Script is about Miri’s summer internship on a local film production company. Miri is an aspiring filmaker on her second year in senior high school. She decided to do her internship on a company that her lolo — who used to be a director — used to work to. While doing her internship, she was able to meet other aspiring filmmaker interns in the same company.

I made sure to take notes of the local movie references in the novel. Someone is totally having a movie marathon night one of these days.

It definitely has the “Kilig Factor”.

Well, #romanceclass is called #romanceclass for a freaking good reason. I’d totally get disappointed if I didn’t feel the kilig while reading this because I know what I signed up for here. But Danice Mae P. Sison gave it, all right!

A little short to the I’m-rolling-on-my-bed or eating-my-pillow kind of kilig, but definitely something that made me hit my pillow, or touch my heart of face. SOMETHING SO CUTE AND FLUFFY. So, if you plan to read this while reading LRT/MRT or the bus, good luck with the feels in public.

For international readers, if you Google “kilig translation”, you’ll get “romantic excitement”. Okay it’s swooning, really. Miri and Pabs were very cute. They gave just right amount of teenage kilig-worthy romance. Something that I can only wish for back when I was a teen. Lol!

One thing about ME when reading YA romances is how I totally forget sometimes that the main characters are just 15 to 17 freaking years old. When I was 17, I go straight to the arcade with my friends after school to play Dance Dance Revolution or Guitar Hero or a short videoke session. Lol!

Something I can totally see on our local big screen or television.

One of the best things about reading a #romanceclass book aside from the fact that they are written by Filipino authors and the kilig factor is that they are set in our country. It gives a more relatable and realistic experience.

I can totally see Flipping The Script being produced on a real film or a teleserye (as what Filipinos call our local TV series). And if I am to cast someone as Miri and Pabs? Maybe Janella Salvador for Miri and Donny Pangilinan for Pabs. The heart-shape smile? I can totally see it on Donny. I think Maybe Maris Racal for Ava or Tetet. I’ve seen her do best friend and kikay roles, and I can totally see her playing either.

Will definitely read more #romanceclass novels!

Pick this book! Summer vacation season in the country is almost here, so this is a perfect addition on your summer reading pile. I’ll be totally checking the other Flicker books too!

I was also live tweeting while reading this book to perfectly summarize my feelings for it. Check HERE. Don’t worry! It’s totally spoiler free!

This is perfect for fans of Kate Evangelista and Kasie West.

After reading Flipping The Script, I’d totally go on a hunt for the next #romanceclass read. Any suggestion?!

the nocturnal fey #romanceclass
Pin this!

Disclaimer: I received an eARC from #romanceclass in exchange for an honest review in participation for a blog tour. This doesn’t affect my opinion of the book in this review in any way.


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

avatar

Danice Mae P. Sison

Danice Mae P. Sison realized she wanted to be Harriet the Spy when she was very young. Since then, she has been digging out from real life experiences, pop culture obsessions, and her growing TBR pile of young adult and romance books for inspiration. She works in pay television as a channel manager, and has previously contributed as an author on the anthology Start Here. Flipping the Script is her first book.

Email: hastyteenflick@gmail.com


#romanceclass flipping the script

Tour organized by Tara Frejas

#romanceclass

9 Replies to “[Blog Tour] Flipping The Script (#romanceclassFlicker) by Danice Mae P. Sison Book Review”

  • Ahh, saw your blog’s name on my inbox and when I saw that it was for a review of a #romanceclass title? I was ecstatic!

    Welcome to the club, Erika! Here’s to hoping that I’ll see you around in local events and we’ll finally meet. 💛

    I unfortunately wasn’t able to sign up for this tour, but if you’re interested in recommendations:

    – For a steamy romance with delicious descriptions of Filipino food, Better At Weddings Than You
    – For a Christian romance that’s less preachy and more swoonworthy, Keep the Faith
    – For delightful, unapologetic queerness, Start Here anthology
    – For amazing mental health and themes about being kind to yourself, Ghost of a Feeling (this one is my fave!!!)

    • AAAH THANK YOU FOR THIS RECS, SHEALEA! Definitely checking these out! Oo nga! Hopefully, I can join future events too (and meet and spazz with you guys). Hay, this took me so long! So happy I finally got the chance to read #romanceclass!

    • Thank you so much for informing me, KB! Ikaw talaga yon e! Hehe. I already checked their website and already eyeing some! Will definitely check your recommendation as well.

  • Saw the tour sign up too but I thought you need to read the first Flicker novel, haha! But still, I’ve been seeing a lot of positive reviews about this lately and I seriously can’t wait to grab a copy! I’ve been craving romantic reads lately and Flipping the Scripts sounds like something I’d love! Awesome review, Erika! You definitely made me look forward to this book more!

    • Thank you, Erica! Since summer is approaching here in PH, you can definitely add it up on your summer read. I think you’ll enjoy it more since the premise is also set in summer. I’ll look forward on what you think about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.